2016 Reading Year in Review

Works Read in 2016

  • Dido, Queen of Carthage by Christopher Marlowe
  • Tamburlaine the Great Part I by Christopher Marlowe
  • Tamburlaine the Great Part II by Christopher Marlowe
  • Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
  • The Jew of Malta by Christopher Marlowe
  • Edward II by Christopher Marlowe
  • The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis (re-read)
  • Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate
  • The Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
  • The Faerie Queene Part I by Edmund Spenser
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • The Praise of Folly by Desiderius Erasmus
  • The Essays by Michel de Montaigne
  • Utopia by Thomas More
  • Collected Poems by Philip Larkin
  • Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman
  • Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library (re-read)
  • Lemoncello’s Library Olympics
  • The Decameron by Giovanni Boccaccio
  • The Civilization of the Middle Ages by Norman F. Cantor.

This year I read 21 books (one of them was a re-read). There was a strong focus on Renaissance Literature (Marlowe, Spenser, Erasmus, Montaigne, More, and Boccaccio could count as a Medieval-transition figure). I also read a handful of children’s novels as part of my job as a school librarian. I ended the year with the phenomenal overview of the Middle Ages by Norman Cantor.

One of my goals in the past couple of years was to improve my math skills, which I made some good ground (re-learned precaculus, learned introdoctory statistics, and was beginning the early chapters of Calculus), but somewhere in the last six months my practice became infrequent and I lost a lot of what I gained. I plan to revitalize the effort in working on my math skills in 2017.

My work this year has inspired me to keep reading in Medieval and Renaissance History and Literature, but I don’t want to ignore more recent classics (19th and 20th century works). So I might try to rotate them into my reading plans.

I also wanted to add more psychology nonfiction in the vein of Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman, which was an excellent book and the one work on psychology EVERYONE should read!

 

4 thoughts on “2016 Reading Year in Review

  1. There’s lots on that list that I have planned for this year! I’m reading Marlowe now and I read Utopia just this morning. Not sure when I’ll get to Erasmus or any of my other Renaissance reads – a slow plod but I’m enjoying them 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year! Marlowe was really good and overshadowed by Shakespeare so I feel he tends to get ignored by the general reader. One day I want to re-read Erasmus with a different translation.

  2. What a great list …. I’m still making my way through reading your last post but very interesting! I’m finishing up Book II of The Faerie Queene and plan to continue it in 2017. I was making my way through some math books at one time, and learning some Greek, but both have fallen by the wayside. However, I’m planning to concentrate on French this year, so I can’t see getting back to them soon. Love your plans for 2017! Happy reading!

    • The Cantor post? I’ve given up on the Faerie Queene for now. Maybe I’ll go back to it in 2017, depends how my reading is going. It’s hard to keep up with everything (learning a language, math, plus continuing to read classics!) Have a great New Year and good luck with the French!

Leave a Reply

